turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1120S Shareholder Distribution

As a business owner, my ordinary income amounts to $50,000. At the beginning of the year, my stock basis stands at $15,000, and I have a section 179 deduction of $15,000.

Once I deduct the section 179, I am left with $35,000 to distribute. I'm uncertain about how to properly enter or classify the following details on my tax returns or 1099-DIV:

$15,000 as a return of capital, which is nontaxable. This distribution will reduce my ending year stock basis to $0.

$20,000 as excess distributions and loan repayments, which are considered taxable long-term capital gains.

Could you please guide me on the appropriate way to handle these entries or classifications?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

the info you provided is not clear. so if  

basis BOY $15K

ordinary income after salary $50K

basis now $65 K

distributions $35K

basis now $30K

179 deduction $15K

basis end of year $15K

based on this distributions up to $50K would reduce basis to zero and be tax free

on the other hand if the $15K basis includes the $50K income (this could imply negative basis at the end of the prior year, unless in the current year you put additional money into the corp, which presents its own problems as basis should never be negative) but not the $15K 179 

distributions of up to $15K would be tax free reducing basis to zero (distrubtions reduce basis before the 179 deduction under the Code's ordering rules) 

if you in fact distributed $35K in the current tax year you have $20K of capital gain