turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I'm an Artist and have two home offices, a Studio/office room indoors and a studio/workshop in an outbuilding. How do I enter both spaces?

I have been in my new house since last December, so my first year claiming both spaces.

I paint, draw, store artwork, supplies, do bookkeeping, etc. in the dedicated art studio room inside my home. 

The other building is also used only for my business, too. I paint there as well, do sculptural work, and store supplies for both. I hand make frames for my paintings, so my wood tools for cutting, routing, planing, joinery, assembly and finishing are set up there, as well as other tools for sculptural work.  Essentially, all the louder, power tool required sides of my business. 🙂

It is a separate structure, unattached, several feet from the back door of my house. Both spaces are used solely for my art business. 

I think I enter both separately as two home offices. When I enter the first it asks me for the square footage of the home office to calculate the difference between the house and the dedicated room.  I think it will then help calculate portions of the utilities and property tax based on the % of office space versus total house sq footage.

When I enter the outbuilding into turbotax home and business desktop, is there a way to specify that it is a separate, unattached structure on the property? It is not a garage but has electricity on the same meter as the house, for example. Will I be able to deduct a portion of the utilities as well as a portion of the property taxes I pay for the outbuilding?

Or, is this structure not considered a "home office" as it is in an outbuilding, and does it need to be entered in a different way in turbotax?