Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I have a small hair braiding business (cash only) MD is requesting I provide detailed documentation of my business income reported on my 1040, what should I provide them?

I made $11,500 last year braiding hair, (cash only) business Maryland is asking that I provide them with details of my business income before they release my refund. What can I provide them in order to prove my business income? Additionally, I have been braiding hear since 2014 and reporting it on my tax returns, but I've never setup an EIN number or registered my business with Maryland.  what documentation are they seeking from me in order to prove my business income?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I have a small hair braiding business (cash only) MD is requesting I provide detailed documentation of my business income reported on my 1040, what should I provide them?

Do you give any kind of receipts ?   Or deposit the income in a business bank account ?
AmandaR1

That's ok that you don't have an EIN or formal business. What they want is proof of your business income. Your sales of $11,500 is a very even number and often that's a sign that you are estimating, which may be why they are requesting this. It's perfectly fine if that is the actual number and that's why you want to have your records.

Taxes are never based on estimates, only actual numbers, so everyone who works for themselves is supposed to keep records of every sale and every expense (accounting records), on a regular basis.