Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Event: Ask the Experts about your refund > RSVP NOW!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How should I report my cryptocurrency activity? I am a freelancer whom at one point in 2019, received cryptocurrency in exchange for services rendered.

I received cryptocurrency in 2019, 0.32 Bitcoin to be exact for services rendered as a freelancer/contractor. On the TurboTax it asks if I've sold any Cryptocurrency, which the obvious answer is yes but I'm getting conflicting information about this online - reporting it as self-employment income, versus some other way.

Also, some of the questions it asks about Cryptocurrency on TurboTax don't apply in this circumstance, for example "Date of Purchase" and "Cost Basis". Would like some info on this before going forward, thank you for any advice you can give.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

6 Replies

How should I report my cryptocurrency activity? I am a freelancer whom at one point in 2019, received cryptocurrency in exchange for services rendered.

Even if you "sold" the bitcoin to convert it into cash you do NOT enter it on the Sch D as a sale ... delete what you entered in that section and enter the income received on the Sch C instead ...

general income sch c 2.PNG

Ok, so just for clarity's sake and to wrap this up. I leave the Cryptocurrency section blank or at $0.00, and don't have to click yes or no in the prompt about having it in the Cryptocurrency section, correct? Inputting it ONLY as additional income on my Schedule C.

Leave at Zero?Leave at Zero?Yes, no, or nothing at at all?Yes, no, or nothing at at all?

GiseleD
Expert Alumni