Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

FIling Form 8453

Howdy, all!  I'm a do-it-yourself tax newbie; I use TurboTax on a yearly basis, but my stuff is always dead simple.

Fast backstory:  I played around with Robinhood a bit in 2021 and joined the Dogecoin craze.  I knew I'd get something from them that I'd need to include on my tax returns, so I followed the step-by-steps and where I couldn't electronically import the information, I keyed in the 1099-B information.  After e-filing and sending everything away, TT lets me know I need to mail off Form 8453.

me:  uh whut

If I understand this correctly, I'm mailing Form 8453 and including what TT generated:  Form 8949, "Sales and Other Disposition of Capital Assets".  If I understood correctly, I need to have this post-marked and sent to our IRS overlords no later than three business days after they accept my e-filed return.

So, my two questions:

1. Is it actually that simple, or am I dumbly overlooking something?
  2. Can I go ahead and send this thing off via USPS Certified Mail so I don't WHOOPS and forget it, or should I wait for the confirmation for the accepted return?

Thanks, to any and all who can help this idiot out.

(I wish I understood more about finance.  😖)

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
PatriciaV
Expert Alumni

FIling Form 8453

Yes, you do need to mail your supporting statements, such as your brokerage statements (Form 1099B) and Form 8453, but you don't need to include Form 8949 since TurboTax filed this form electronically with your tax return. You can include it for reference purposes, if you like.