Solved: I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted
New Member

I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?

I made a mistake on the state.  How can I fix this?
1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
New Member

I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?

You may not need to start all over. You can delete your TurboTax Online state return as long as you haven't paid for it yet (or registered in a free version):

1.       Sign in to your return, if you're not already signed in.
(To do this, sign in to TurboTax and select the orange Take me to my return button.)

2.       Click State Taxes near the top of your screen, and then Select Your State Returns.

3.       On that screen, click the Delete link right next to the Edit button, and then answer Yes.

If you don't see the Edit or Delete button on the Your State Returns screen and haven't paid or registered, please do the following:

1.       Click State Taxes.

2.       Select the Your State Returns screen.

3.       Click Start next to the state you want to delete.

4.       After the transfer of the information completes, click Continue.

5.       Once the next screen has loaded, click State Taxes and then select Your State Returns.

6.       Click Delete next to the state that you want deleted.

7.       Click Yes.

In some cases, you won't see the option to delete, just Edit and Start Over. This is because you either already paid for your state or registered your free version while that state was attached to your return.

If you still think you'd like to Clear & Start Over, you can do that as long as you haven't paid or registered yet.

  1. Sign in to TurboTax Online and open your return by clicking the orange Take me to my return button.
  2. From the My Account dropdown menu, select Clear & Start Over.
  3. Answer Yes to Are you sure you want to clear your return?
  4. After your entries have been cleared out, we'll prompt you to select a TurboTax product so you can start over from the very beginning.
  5. If you're signed in under last year's login, we'll automatically transfer last year's info over if you select the PLUS upgrade, Deluxe, Premier, or Self-Employed. Federal Free Edition (without PLUS) does not include the year-over-year transfer feature.

If you can't Clear & Start Over after you've registered, and it's convenient, consider opening a new account under a new username. Up to 5 accounts can be attached to one email address.

Otherwise, try to post another question about your problem and someone should be able to help you fix it.





View solution in original post

3 Replies
Highlighted
New Member

I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?

You may not need to start all over. You can delete your TurboTax Online state return as long as you haven't paid for it yet (or registered in a free version):

1.       Sign in to your return, if you're not already signed in.
(To do this, sign in to TurboTax and select the orange Take me to my return button.)

2.       Click State Taxes near the top of your screen, and then Select Your State Returns.

3.       On that screen, click the Delete link right next to the Edit button, and then answer Yes.

If you don't see the Edit or Delete button on the Your State Returns screen and haven't paid or registered, please do the following:

1.       Click State Taxes.

2.       Select the Your State Returns screen.

3.       Click Start next to the state you want to delete.

4.       After the transfer of the information completes, click Continue.

5.       Once the next screen has loaded, click State Taxes and then select Your State Returns.

6.       Click Delete next to the state that you want deleted.

7.       Click Yes.

In some cases, you won't see the option to delete, just Edit and Start Over. This is because you either already paid for your state or registered your free version while that state was attached to your return.

If you still think you'd like to Clear & Start Over, you can do that as long as you haven't paid or registered yet.

  1. Sign in to TurboTax Online and open your return by clicking the orange Take me to my return button.
  2. From the My Account dropdown menu, select Clear & Start Over.
  3. Answer Yes to Are you sure you want to clear your return?
  4. After your entries have been cleared out, we'll prompt you to select a TurboTax product so you can start over from the very beginning.
  5. If you're signed in under last year's login, we'll automatically transfer last year's info over if you select the PLUS upgrade, Deluxe, Premier, or Self-Employed. Federal Free Edition (without PLUS) does not include the year-over-year transfer feature.

If you can't Clear & Start Over after you've registered, and it's convenient, consider opening a new account under a new username. Up to 5 accounts can be attached to one email address.

Otherwise, try to post another question about your problem and someone should be able to help you fix it.





View solution in original post

Highlighted
New Member

I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?

Need somebody to call me I can't delete my stuff [phone number removed] Larry Green

Highlighted
Expert Alumni

I made a mistake. Do I have to start over?

Please click the link below to contact Customer Support for assistance.

 

What is the TurboTax phone number? - Community

 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
Privacy Settings