Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

E-File was rejected because of "duplicate" 1099-R forms.

I called Turbo Tax, got a case number, got with a Turbo Tax Agent, they had me remove one of the "duplicate" 1099-R and then add it back in and then refiled.  I just got my rejection for duplicate 1099-Rs.  Turbo Tax needs to fix this issue.  Some folks have tried to trick the system by adding a penny or some other small amount that will be lost in rounding.  I am not in the habit of lying to the IRS.

TURBO TAX - HELP US

I have been using Turbo Tax since 1996.  This is the last year.

Zwez

I experienced the same problem with my tax filing for 2020. My wife and I took out investments from the a company years ago on the same date for the same amount, so both have identical annual income. I have reported this investment on my tax forms for numerous years using TurboTax and never experienced a problem with my return being rejected until this year. After making sure that the both investments were attributed properly to each of us with correct identification, I decided to try adding one penny to the value of one of the investments. Within hours I received notification that my 2020 tax return was accepted. I hope that this solution will be of help to others experiencing tax returns being rejected due to seemingly "duplicate" 1099-R forms.