Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Worksheet for Determining Support - College Student Living Away from Home

Hi, I am a resident of State A and full-time undergrad student in State B.

As such, I live in B for 9 months a year as a full time student (intending to return to my home of A, making these 9 months living in B for "temporary or transitory purposes" as well as working an internship in B during the summer.

I was wondering how the "Expenses for Entire Household (where the person you supported lived)" would be calculated, since I am only physically at home for no more than 1 month per year (during school breaks, etc.).

I pay room and board during the school year through a 529 plan (which should end up on line 15) and pay rent during the summer for my internship.

How should I go about filling out the worksheet correctly to avoid "double-counting" costs? I want to make sure the actual amount spent on support is correct, and not overestimated.

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Hal_Al
Level 15

Q. Would food expenses have to be double counted as well? 

A.  No. Count only your actual food.  Housing is "double counted" because your parents still have the expenses, of providing shelter, even though you are not physically there (you are still considered as an occupant).  The cost of your "room", at school, is an additional expense.

I added a couple of other points to my original reply (about savings not being support and how 529 plans are treated for support).

Basically, you have no need to go through this exercise, if you know, for sure,  that "there is no question that I do not actually provide half of my own support for the year 2024".