Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Veterinarian side gigs

I am currently a relief veterinarian working through a company that schedules my shifts, and I do receive a W-2 through them. I also work vaccine clinics separately from this and receive 1099s. Can I claim mileage for my W-2 job or only for the 1099 jobs? Also, I attend veterinary conferences in order to fulfill my continuing education  credits to uphold my license. Can I deduct the conference expenses (i.e. flights, registration fees, transit, food, etc) from my 1099s as an independent contractor? Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies

Veterinarian side gigs

Great questions!!

You can only claim expenses for the 1099 NEC/MISC jobs. 

And yes, on the 1099 NEC/MISC job, you can claim the veterinary conferences in order to fulfill your continuing education  credits to uphold your license.  And you can deduct the conference expenses (i.e. flights, registration fees, transit, food, etc) from your 1099s as an independent contractor.

I have a few links that I love and maybe they will help you understand income and expenses, estimated taxes and self employment tax (social security and medicare).

Self employment tax  Talks about social security and Medicare taxes

Self employment tax hub with calculator  Helps to answer questions and figure out if you need to pay estimated taxes

Self Employment income and expenses  Talks about income and expenses.