Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Traveling race mechanic - health insurance deductible?

I work as a mechanic for several different race teams, traveling to various race tracks.  As an independent contractor who collects Social Security, is on Medicare and has a secondary health insurance/Medigap plan and my own workers' compensation (required by one client), what (if any) health insurance is deductible and where would I list or claim it when filing?

Also, sometimes my personal tools are "borrowed" by other mechanics at an event but are not always returned; may I claim tool replacement costs?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

All of your Medicare and your Medigap premiums for the months that you are self-employed are deductible as Self-Employed Health Insurance.  You can deduct them in the Business Expense section under Other Common Business Expenses>>Insurance Payments>>Health Insurance Premiums.  

Your workers comp would be deductible as business insurance as would any liability insurance you carry.  This would again be under Other Common Business Expenses>> Insurance Payments>>Business Insurance

Yes, you would be able to deduct the cost of your replacement tools as a Miscellaneous Expense (assuming these are small hand or power tools and such and not something like a $10,000 scan tool).  The Miscellaneous Expenses are also under Other Common Business Expenses.  You will just enter the description and amount.