turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Tax Year Prior to 2020: Are you required to file your 1098-T form?

I am a College student, and I'm curious if i am required to file my 1098-T.
Can you file taxes without it?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

114 Replies
Patrice

No, you don't have to report your 1098-T, not unless you want to claim an education credit.  However if your grant/scholarship amount (box 5) is more than your tuition (box 1/box 2) you may want to report it because excess scholarship money may be treated as taxable income on your return.

When you enter your 1098-T, we use this and other information to determine the educational benefits you may be eligible for on your tax return, such as the American Opportunity Credit, the Lifetime Learning Credit and the Tuition and Fees Deduction.

How do you qualify for the American Opportunity Credit or lifetime learning credit? And how do you know if you have received them before (because it asks). I am 21 undergrad student, and its asking me if someone else can claim as a dependent. Right now, I am independent. My parents will not claim me. Also, after I put the 1098-t, $600 of the federal was taken away do you know why? Many thanks

I don't understand the part that says, "you may want to report it" My box 5 is more than box 1/box 2, I entered my information and it reduced my tax return almost $800. So I may want to report it because it "may be treated as taxable income"? If I don't have to report it, and reporting it lowers my projected tax return, then why should I report it?

Secondly, if Box 5 being more than box 1 is what causes it to be taxable income then why tell people it does not have to be reported?
16koganc