Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

avneige
Returning Member

Self-employed but paid on W2

I am a freelancer but I have a 40-hour a week contract with an employer who pays me on W2, taking taxes out. I'm still not considered full-time and they don't provide me benefits. How do I account for self-employed status and home office deductions in this case?

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

You don't.   If you received a W-2 you are an employee, despite the fact that you are not receiving "benefits".  W-2 employees cannot deduct job-related expenses like a home office on a federal tax return.

-W-2 employees cannot deduct job-related expenses on a federal return.  Job-related expenses were eliminated as a federal deduction for W-2 employees by the tax laws that changed for 2018 and beyond.  Your state tax laws might be different in AL, AR, CA, HI, MN, NY or PA.

If you live in a state that lets you deduct job-related expenses, the information will flow from your federal return  to the state return, so enter it in Federal>Deductions and Credits>Employment Expenses>Job-Related Expenses

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

One question---is the box for "Statutory employee" checked on your W-2?

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**
avneige
Returning Member

That can't be correct.

avneige
Returning Member

No. Statutory Employee is NOT checked.

@avneige