Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Resident alien J1 research scholar without W2

Hi! I'm a  visa J1 Research Scholar holder since December 2019. Last year, I reported my taxes as a Nonresident alien using Glacier software, but this year the program considered me a Resident alien for taxes purposes because I have been living here for more than 2 years, so I can't use that program. I would like to know how I should report my income, I'm a postdoc, I received a monthly stipend, which is not a scholarship. I didn't receive a W2 or any official documentation. I'll appreciate any advice on this, thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DaveF1006
Expert Alumni

According to this IRS source,  a J-1 alien cannot exclude U.S. day of presence as a “teacher or trainee” for more than two calendar years, unless they extend their exemption.  A student can exclude up to five years with no extensions and file as a non-resident.

At this point, I am not sure if being a Research Scholar classifies you as a student or “teacher or trainee" but if you are the latter, then you meet the criteria for being a resident alien. Here is the criteria.

• Generally, a J-1 alien who spends 122 days in the United States in each year of the 3-year period will meet the Substantial Presence Test for the current calendar year and be considered a U.S. resident. For details on the 3-year look-back formula refer to Substantial Presence Test.

Here is how to report your income as a US resident alien.

1. Go to federal>income and expenses>all income>>show more 
  2. Less Common Income> Start
  3. Miscellaneous Income,>start 
  4. Other reportable income>start