Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

Question: What does "Section 1256 contract net losses can be carried back three years" mean?

Would you mind checking the following example and help me understand if I can carryback 30,000 into 2021? TIA!

I started trading futures since 2021 with a 1256 contract net gain in 2021 and a net loss in 2022.

Assume:

2021: section 1256 net gain is 30,000 but total capital Gain or loss is -50,000. Only 3,000 is reported as capital loss and -47,000 is carried forward to 2022

2022: section 1256 net loss is -80,000 and total capital Gain or loss is -200,000. Only 3,000 is reported as capital loss of current year.

check box D for carryback: 2021 is the first year trading so that's the only carryback year.

carryback limit: 30,000? what I'm struggling with is the smaller of section 1256 gain and schedule D line 16 gain as it's a loss of 50,000. 

Question: What does "Section 1256 contract net losses can be carried back three years" mean?

Here is from Form 6781 instruction:

The amount you can carry back to any prior year is limited to the smaller of:
• The gain, if any, that you would report on line 16 of Schedule D (Form 1040) for that carryback year if only gains and losses from section 1256 contracts were taken into account; or
• The gain, if any, reported on line 16 of Schedule D (Form 1040) for that carryback year.

So I suggest you to check your 2021 return, use the GAIN number on Sched D, line 16 as your carryback amount.

GeorgeM777
Expert Alumni