Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

mjb123
Returning Member

How do I apply for Trader tax status (TTS) using TurboTax?

I am a Day Trader and also received a letter from my brokerage stating that I was put on Pattern Day Trader Status.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

24 Replies
M-MTax
Level 10

Doesn't mean you automatically qualify for TTS. Check the link TTS 

mjb123
Returning Member

I qualify. How do I make the mark-to-market election under section 475(f)?  Can TurboTax do this electronically? 

Anonymous
Not applicable

read this you may be out of luck for the 2020 tax year.

Deadline

The IRS chose an unusual deadline for this election. Most elections are due at the end of the year, when you file your return. This election has to be made by the due date — without extensions — for the previous year’s tax return. The last day to make the mark-to-market election for the year 2020 was July 15, 2020 (the unextended due date for 2019 tax returns). 

The main reason for this is to prevent taxpayers from choosing the election at a time when they already know whether their trading activity will generate a profit or a loss. Many traders would wait until they have a year with significant trading losses, then file the election for that year to avoid the capital loss limitation. the election applies to all future years once you make it, but until then you get the benefit of capital gain treatment in profitable years without worrying about the capital loss limitation in a year with poor results.

Making the Election