Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

As a painting contractor, I buy paint for each customer, how do I deduct this?

I realize that I take deductions on the Schedule C for supplies and tools that I buy. But it seems strange to buy paint (and other things like primer, wood filler, etc.) for each job and then get paid for the job (labor plus materials) and be taxed on something I bought for that specific job. As an example - I have a job where I charged $800 for labor and bought $200 worth of paint. The invoice I gave the client was for $1000. So when I do my taxes I include that $1000 as income. But $200 of that was not income, it was simply me going to to paint store "for" the client and buying something for them. If I simply claim the $1000 as income and then list the $200 as supplies, my taxable income does not go down by $200 - I pay tax (income and self employment tax) on an item I purchased for my client. It seems like an incorrect way to do this. Am I wrong?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

You list the paint as a supplies cost.  You should end up paying income tax on your net earnings (gross income minus expenses) where your expenses include not only brushes and masking tape, but also the paint you are buying for the customers.  

AnnetteB6
Expert Alumni

To expand on the information shared by Opus17, if your Schedule C business income is not being reduced by $200 when you claim $200 of supplies or miscellaneous business expense, then you may be doing something wrong.