turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

How long did your manual review for state take?

My Oregon tax refund is under manual review and I haven't received any letter from them either. how long did yours take?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
GeoffreyG

Writing as a TurboTax employee, we generally don't reply to questions such as this, where you are obviously seeking community input from other Oregon income tax filers; and not looking for legal or technical answers to tax and software issues.

However, I feel compelled to weigh in on this particular thread, because I have a relevant professional experience to share with you.  As part of my practice as a CPA, I prepare individual and business tax returns for a small private group of income tax filers, in addition to my employment at TurboTax.

With that fact understood, I had reason to prepare and file an Oregon Form 40 (full-year resident) state tax return last season (2015 tax year) with the Oregon Department of Revenue.  It was filed in late March, and subsequently "held for manual review" as you indicate in your text.  The taxpayer at issue did not receive their state of Oregon tax refund until mid-August, months later that same year.

There were no adjustments made to the tax return by the Oregon Department of Revenue, no questions ever asked of the taxpayer (by letter or otherwise), and no other explanation ever provided, aside from the indication that it went through a manual review process.  The Oregon Department of Revenue did pay a small amount of interest (as required by Oregon law) for the delayed refund, in addition to the original refund claimed.