Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Newbie and Quarterly Estimated Taxes for 2023

I am self-employed & file Schedule C as a sole proprietor.  I have never used Turbotax before and purchased TurboTax Desktop Home & Business in order to do my 2023 taxes. More specifically, I want to calculate my 2023 quarterly estimated taxes & pre-plan for 2023 taxes. (I've already filed my 2022 taxes through a CPA). My questions are:

1. After downloading TurboTax I realized that I purchased "TurboTax 2022". Can Turbotax 2022 calculate 2023 quarterly estimated tax payments?

2. More specifically, I read that TurboTax will calculate 2023 quarterly taxes based on 2022 tax data. I did not plan to enter any 2022 data since my CPA already finished my 2022 taxes plus I have switched my business structure from a solo S-Corp to a sole proprietor beginning 1/1/2023. Therefore even if enter the 2022 data, TurboTax will estimate taxes based on an old business/tax structure that is no longer valid. 

3. Do I have to purchase the 2023 version of Turbotax as well or can I replace the 2022 version with 2023, given the situation above and the fact that my goal is to calculate 2023 quarterly estimated taxes and eventually have TurboTax do my 2023 tax return instead of the CPA? (I didn't see a purchase option to specify a particular tax year version.) 

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DianeW777
Expert Alumni

1. Yes, TurboTax can help you calculate your 2023 estimated taxes but you would still need to provide information since the Schedule C (sole proprietor) is not included in your 2022 tax return.