Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

My tax return is still processing for so long. Am i gonna get it this year?

I'm a uni student that worked in the US last summer through work&travel program. I filed my tax return using Turbotax, and when I filed it, my W-2 had an incorrect SSN. I just wrote my SSN correctly in the filling row but attached the W-2 despite it. After 21 days my return was still processing so I asked my employer for W-2c so I can get my tax return processed through. My employer sent the W-2c after a month and a half and the experts in the community advised me that IRS would process my tax return as soon as my SSN is corrected and the W-2c is sent to IRS and the return should be deposited to my account after 2-3 weeks by itself but it's been more than 5 weeks now since and I don't know what to do more. Do I amend? My friends that amended theirs last year said that they haven't gotten theirs since amending and it's a bad idea. So I'm stuck not knowing what to do. I called IRS 2 weeks ago about it and they said would send me an identification verification document to help with it but even if I can't fill that document the return should be sent if there's no problem. But I'm outside of the state and I can't even receive the ID document IRS sent me so now I'm really confused. Is it even possible to receive my return now? I really need the return as quickly as possible it's really hard for me not knowing what to do. Please help me with your inputs.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

If the IRS told you to wait that is what you should do.