Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Kiki
Level 4

My forex loss is considered as Capital Loss or Ordinary Loss? And Where/How to claim the loss?

I am just a casual Forex spot trader, actually traded only a couple of times in 2022. And I lost $2000.

I am not a day trader either trading in business. 

Q1) .  Do I claim my loss as Capital Loss or Ordinary Loss?  

( I am assuming my loss is Capital Loss Schedule D ??? )

Q2).  If it's Capital Loss   ->      Investment and Saving ( 1099DIV, 1099INT, 1099B . . .)  is right Section to claim ?

If it's Ordinary Loss  ->    Other income   1099MISC is right Section to claim?

I spent a lot of time to search  to determine whether Capital or Ordinary Loss, but each writer describes a little differently and I want to make sure it from knowledgeable people here. Also, if anyone gives me a guidance how to claim it in a right section, it would be very helpful.

Thank you so much.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

My forex loss is considered as Capital Loss or Ordinary Loss? And Where/How to claim the loss?

Currency gain/loss is ordinary income

UNLESS
you  sign and date a written election to have currency transactions processed under Section 1256 40%/60% capital gains

before your first trade of the year and keep that with your tax documents.

@Kiki 

View solution in original post

4 Replies

Currency gain/loss is ordinary income

UNLESS
you  sign and date a written election to have currency transactions processed under Section 1256 40%/60% capital gains

before your first trade of the year and keep that with your tax documents.

@Kiki 

boblaa

•  
  •  

Taxes for Over-the-Counter (OTC) Forex Traders