Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Multi-state income

I am a full time resident of Alabama. I have land that is leased out and farmed in Georgia, from which I received a K-1.  But when I go to do my state taxes, ALL of my income is listed as earned in Georgia.  The only income I have other than the land lease in Georgia is capital gains and interest, as I am retired but not yet drawing social security. Why does this happen? Shouldn't all my income populate first to Alabama and then I take out the portion earned in Georgia instead of the other way around? Please help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
PatriciaV
Expert Alumni

Multi-state income

Did you complete the Georgia state return first? When preparing returns in multiple states, it's best to do your nonresident and/or part-year resident state returns first, and your resident state last.

If you started with Alabama, try deleting both states, then work on Georgia first.

To delete a state, on the Status of your state returns screen, select Delete next to your state, then answer Yes.

If you’ve already paid your state fees, you can’t delete your return, but you can start over by selecting Start Over next to your state return on the Status of your state returns screen.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Multi-state income

Thanks for your reply.