Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Late S-Corp election retroactive to 1/1/2023 approved, how to handle 1099

Hello,

I recently received approval from the IRS to have my single-member LLC file as an S-Corp and they approved the effective date as of 1/1/2023.  However, all year I have been an independent agent receiving commissions to me individually and I assume I will be receiving a lot of 1099s in early next year as I have for all the years I have been an insurance agent.  Normally I have filed as a sole-pro LLC disregarded entity generating a Schedule C for all my 1099 income.  However, now that I will be treated as an S-Corp retroactively to 1/1/2023, what will I do with all the 1099s sent my way for money earned this year?  I have begun the process of sending new w9 forms to all my payors to attribute payments to my LLC and its EIN, but they all say it is not retroactive.

I have heard a couple of options- one is just still file a Schedule C and those 1099s for this year and they will be treated as SE as usual.  However, I do also have to set up a payroll now for w2 wages as part of the s-corp requirement so will I be w2 for only part of the year even though the s corp election is retroactive to 1/1?

I guess I am confused as to how to handle this right now in terms of the payroll and the 2023 w2 I will have to generate as well as how this will be handled at tax time.  I read somewhere there may be a way to 'nominate' the 1099 income I received to my LLC and then roll everything under the LLC EIN even if I receive 1099s to my SSN.  Is this possible? Suggestions?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
Critter-3
Level 15