turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

K-1 for IEP questions

Hi Tax Experts,

I received a K-1 for owning publicly traded shares of IEP in 2023.  This is my first time receiving a K-1 and I am confused about three things:

1) How can I find out if IEP is a Specified Service Trade or Business?  I believe it is based on the underlying businesses.  Does it say somewhere on the K-1? Turbotax asks about this when entering the K-1 info.

2) Box 20Z has a negative amount for Section 199A PTP Income.  Later it says you should have received a "Statement A" with the K-1, but I did not receive any statement, and the K-1 package online does not have it.  Should I enter the same information from Part III of the K-1 ie Box 1 ordinary business income amount?  Boxes 2 and 3 are 0.

3) Turbotax has a page that says "Enter Box 20 Other Information Amounts"  which asks about some Coal projects and has blank description boxes at the bottom.  Is this asking about the Box 20 ZZ entries?  Do I need to enter the descriptions and amounts there?

Appreciate any help.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
PatriciaV
Expert Alumni

K-1 for IEP questions

1) The Icahn Enterprises website lists several industries, but no service businesses. You may wish to contact IEP investor relations to confirm that it is or is not a Specified Service Business for Section 199A.

2) If the K-1 reports Section 199A PTP income(loss), there should be Statement A in the K-1 package you received. If you are not able to identify this page, contact IEP investor relations to obtain a copy. You won't be able to complete the K-1 entry without it.