Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Issues with 1099-G Box 10a

I am trying to do my taxes but am not being allowed to efile.  The issue is I received a 1099-G from the state of Maine, during the pandemic I received unemployment from Maine where I lived at first, however in 2021 I was a resident of Utah.  The unemployment office has all my info as a resident of Utah. Box 10a has the initials UT, but then box 10b has the same id as the payer, the maine department of labor.  I didn't finish filing yet but to see if it fixes the issues i changed the state to maine and then opened a maine state tax return as a nonresident this had be owing money to Utah but receiving money back from Maine, and it seemed like turbotax would then let me e-file.  Was the 1099G wrong and the state in box 10a should be Maine, the payers state, and not my state, the recipient?  This is all kind of confusing

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

11 Replies
JohnB5677
Expert Alumni

Although unemployment income may come from another state, it is only taxable to the state you are living in at the time you received it.

If you were a resident of Utah for all of 2021 you should not prepare any tax return for Maine.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

So is the 1099-G wrong in Box A when it says the state is Utah? or is 10-b box wrong where it says it is the same id as the payer?  Turbotax wont let me e-file with 10a still saying UT. It says 10a is supposed to match the payers state I think.  I checked my 1099G rom 2020 since it was same situation and there was no box 10a or b

AmyC
Expert Alumni