turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

If I used the wrong type of TurboTax (self-employed instead of Deluxe), how do I change it if I can?

 
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
MeganS
New Member

If I used the wrong type of TurboTax (self-employed instead of Deluxe), how do I change it if I can?

You can downgrade using the clear and start over feature. However, you will be required to restart your return. Please keep in mind that our various TurboTax programs handle different tax situations and their associated forms.

 

In TurboTax Online, you can erase your return and start from scratch as long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered.

  1. If you haven't already done so, sign in at TurboTax.com and select the blue Take me to my return button.
  2. On the welcome back screen, in the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then select Clear & Start Over (see attached Tax Tools)
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

View solution in original post

2 Replies
MeganS
New Member

If I used the wrong type of TurboTax (self-employed instead of Deluxe), how do I change it if I can?

You can downgrade using the clear and start over feature. However, you will be required to restart your return. Please keep in mind that our various TurboTax programs handle different tax situations and their associated forms.

 

In TurboTax Online, you can erase your return and start from scratch as long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered.

  1. If you haven't already done so, sign in at TurboTax.com and select the blue Take me to my return button.
  2. On the welcome back screen, in the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then select Clear & Start Over (see attached Tax Tools)
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

If I used the wrong type of TurboTax (self-employed instead of Deluxe), how do I change it if I can?

You can downgrade your version of TurboTax Online by using the Clear and Start Over featurePlease note that in order to downgrade using the clear and start over feature, it will erase your return and you will start from scratch.  This feature is available as long as you haven't submitted payment, deducted the TurboTax fee from your refund, or registered. 

To downgrade follow these steps below: 

  1. If you haven't already done so, sign in at TurboTax.com and select the blue Take me to my return button.
  2. On the welcome back screen, in the left-side menu, select Tax Tools, and then select Clear & Start Over (click or tap the 3 lines in the upper-left corner if you don't see this menu).
  3. Answer Yes in the pop-up to confirm.

For additional information on how to switch to a lower-priced version of TurboTax Online please see the TurboTax FAQ below:

https://ttlc.intuit.com/replies/3288495

message box icon

Get more help

Ask questions and learn more about your taxes and finances.

Post your Question
Manage cookies