Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I used TT2023 to prepare and file my tax returns as I have for decades. However, it is missing from my laptop. Can you help?

when i click on my return, and it opens, nothing is there.  It asks me to begin as if I've never used it before.  I do have a pdf I saved along with the .tax2023 version so I know I'm not nuts.  But nothing is on the .tax2023.  Freaking out.
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

I used TT2023 to prepare and file my tax returns as I have for decades. However, it is missing from my laptop. Can you help?

The tag below your question says you are using TurboTax Online. If that's true, your return is not on your computer. You could have saved a PDF from TurboTax Online.

If you have the CD/Download TurboTax software installed, are you trying to open the return by clicking on the .tax2023 file in Windows? Don't do that. Start TurboTax, then open the return from within TurboTax.

Do you have more than one .tax2023 file on your computer? Could you be opening the wrong one? You might have saved your return in a different folder, or moved it to a different folder. Search your entire hard drive for *.tax2023.

View solution in original post

4 Replies
rjs
Level 15
Level 15

The tag below your question says you are using TurboTax Online. If that's true, your return is not on your computer. You could have saved a PDF from TurboTax Online.

If you have the CD/Download TurboTax software installed, are you trying to open the return by clicking on the .tax2023 file in Windows? Don't do that. Start TurboTax, then open the return from within TurboTax.