turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am an international student interning in California, for three months, staying with a friend. My college is in NC, and i still retain my rented apartment there since my lease ends next year. Which address do i give in W4?

Basically, long story short, i couldn't get a place at California to stay for three months as it's a very short term period, so my family friend decided to take me in. I wanted to know as to which address to give now, my friend's address in California, or my address in NC, in my W4. I work in California and i get my pay in California, so i do know that i have to file CA state tax. Hence, I am a bit confused as to which address to give? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

I am an international student interning in California, for three months, staying with a friend. My college is in NC, and i still retain my rented apartment there since my lease ends next year. Which address do i give in W4?

Use your NC address.

The address you report to your employer should be the address where you want to get tax-related mail.

However, you will need to have California state income tax withheld.

Assuming you are on an F-visa less than 5 years, you are considered a non-resident alien.  You will be required to file form 1040-NR to report and pay federal income tax on US-source income, but not income you might have overseas.  (By the way, Turbotax does not include form 1040-NR so you will need to use different software.)

As a non-resident of California, you must file a CA non-resident tax return to report and pay state income tax on CA-source income, but not income from other states or countries.