Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

I am a nurse. I currently work at a school and a hospital. Last year I had W-2s. This year I will add a 1099 contracted position to my work life. How will this effect me?

I file quarterly for the independent contractor work, and annually for my W-2 positions? Does TurboTax handle complicated taxes like this? I'm thinking of using Quickbooks for invoices and expenses. Thank you for your help!
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

I am a nurse. I currently work at a school and a hospital. Last year I had W-2s. This year I will add a 1099 contracted position to my work life. How will this effect me?

I file quarterly for the independent contractor work, and annually for my W-2 positions? You pay your taxes quarterly based on estimates.  You will enter your independent contractor work and your W2 on the same 1040 at the end of the year.  The company you are acting as an independent contractor for will issue you a 1099-NEC that you will report on your return which will generate a Schedule C for you.  This will then flow to your 1040. 

Does TurboTax handle complicated taxes like this? Yes

I'm thinking of using Quickbooks for invoices and expenses  Good Idea

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"

Thank you for your help!