Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

HELP!!! Self-Employed health insurance deduction with 1095-A NOT populating on Schedule 1!!!

I've been doing this for over 4 hours, like everyone online, ready to pull hair off!

I've read just about every post that is relevant that is 2024 as old ones are not helpful. I've been using TurboTax for over 15 years, so I know what I'm doing, I believe.

It won't even let me override on Schedule 1 Line 17... what do I do???

I have BOTH Schedule C and S-Corp K-1 businesses, so I can use either. Tried both, and it only populates in Schedule A, which then zeros out if it doesn't meet the medical expense threshold. I NEED IT TO POPULATE ON SCHEDULE 1 - Line 17!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DawnC
Expert Alumni

HELP!!! Self-Employed health insurance deduction with 1095-A NOT populating on Schedule 1!!!

No, do not delete anything.  If the Schedule C has a loss, you can't enter a health insurance deduction for that business.  For the K-1, the S Corporation can either purchase the policy in your name or reimburse you for the premiums you paid.  

You may be able to use the Self-Employed Health Insurance (SEHI) deduction if you're at least a 2% shareholder in an S Corporation.  To claim this deduction, the health insurance premiums must be paid or reimbursed by the S corporation and reported as taxable compensation in box 1 of your W-2.

To claim the SEHI deduction in TurboTax, you'll need the K-1 that the S Corporation sent you. Here's how to enter it and claim the deduction:

1. With your return open in TurboTax, search for K-1 and select the Jump to link.