Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

FTC for Passive Income -

Hey all! Struggling with filing my US taxes via Turbo Tax.

I have passive income (1099-INT/DIV). All of this income is 100% taxed by Germany as I am a resident of Germany. I'm trying to fill out Form 1116 (FTC) for passive income to offset my US tax burden.

When I fill out the passive income Form 1116 in Turbo Tax, it shows a list of SOME of the 1099s to which I can attribute to Germany. But it does not list them all. It only lists the ones which had some foreign taxes withheld on the actual 1099 form. Those that did not have foreign taxes withheld at source are not listed.

Since I can only attribute a portion of my 1099s to Germany, this limits the amount I can claim as FTC (passive income) and increases my US tax burden, incorrectly. 

This seems like a bug. 

How can I signal to Turbo Tax that ALL my 1099 income is German-sourced and therefore should be included in the FTC calculation for passive income?

thanks,
tom
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
SusanY1
Expert Alumni

FTC for Passive Income -

You will need to manually make adjustments in the foreign tax screens to get where you need to be first check "none of these apply" on the screen Tell Us About Your Foreign Taxes

Continue through the "No Other Income or Expenses" screen and select NO.

On the Screen Choose the Income Type choose Passive Income.

On the next screen select "Add a Country" if necessary (Germany  may already be showing in which case, just click Done (or Continue) here.)

If all of the income is already entered from 1099s, leave the Other Gross Income - Germany screen blank.