Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

FL to NY Move Implications for Bonus

Hello,

I’m a FL resident since the end of 2021 and am being paid by a FL based company. For 2022 and 2023, I will have spent less than 10 total days in NY for work with no permanent abode in NY. I am planning to move back to NY on April 1, 2024 for work. Each year I’m paid a salary that’s paid biweekly and an annual bonus paid in February of the following year.

The question I have is around the bonus that I will receive for the work I did in 2023 that will be paid in Feb 2024. Would that bonus be subject to NY State Tax if I am being paid by a FL based firm while living in FL at the time of payment?

I could make the argument that I was a FL resident during the period it was earned (2023) and the bonus will be paid by a FL based company in Feb 2024 so I shouldn’t be paying NY tax on it. NY state could make the argument that if I spend over 180 days in NY in 2024, I am a NY full year resident when I get paid my 2023 bonus (even though technically I’m domiciled and living in FL for the first 3 months of 2024) and this I am liable to pay NY tax.

Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

TomD8
Level 15