Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Dual Status - Substantial Presence Test

Hi,

I am an F-1 Student on OPT, and I have been present in the US for more than 5 years. I have questions about my 2021 returns as this is the year when my 5 calendar years ended. Please see below a full description of my current situation, and advise on how to file my return for 2021.

• F1 Visa - Entered the United States for the first time as a student on F1 visa on 03/21/2016.
  • Currently still in the country on F1 OPT.
  • As a result, I would pass the Substantial Presence Test for part of 2021.

Firstly:

My first question is, what is the 5 calendar years rule? Does it mean that:

a) the exempt period ends on 03/21/2021, which would be 5 years from the date of initial arrival? Meaning that I would pass the Substantial Presence Test on Sep. 19, 2021?

Or

b) should I count the end of my exempt period as the end of 2020, i.e. exempt for the years 2016-2021, and start counting days of presence from 01/01/2021 onwards? In this case, Substantial Presence Test would be passed on July 2, 2021.

Which of these dates would my non-resident status end?

Second: