Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Do I have to do my taxes if I am a student doing an internship? & Can my parents claim me as a dependent?

I am a 22 year old full time college student who received $6,038 in gross income  from a part time spring 2017 internship and full time summer 2017 internship. I also received a financial aid refund check of $5,336 from Pell Grant and Tuition Assistance Program (TAP). I only had $181 in book expense for the year (Because I'm very savvy and rather borrow books from the library) resulting in $5,155 in unearned income. Most of my money went for food, transportation, some clothing. 

I have never done my taxes before and I don't know if I should do them since my gross income is below the required income. However, since my refund financial aid checks are high I feel like I should. 

Also, do I still apply to be my mothers dependent since she is the one who pays the rent, utilities, buys food? Or does that $6,038 in gross income contribute to half my expenses? (I feel like it is unlikely since I live in NYC which is so expensive but I still need to ask)

If my mother puts me as a dependent and I file my taxes, would it not clash? 

Thank you! 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
CathiM

Do I have to do my taxes if I am a student doing an internship? & Can my parents claim me as a dependent?

If you file on your own, you may qualify for an education credit if you provided half of your own support and met the other requirements. You will need to add up your living expenses and see if your income was enough to cover half.  If it is, keep this calculation for your records.