Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

smg101089
Returning Member

Contract vs. Employee

Help! I'm a registered nurse and I work at the hospital PRN (which is 48 hours/month). I get a w-2 for my employment there. I took a second job at a small plastic surgeons office working a few hours a month, depending on how busy he is, but they put me down as a contract employee. I did not have taxes withdrawn, but set money aside and was prepared to pay. But after receiving my 1099-NEC form and doing some of my own research, I believe I should be receiving a w-2 for this employment instead. The reason I question this is because when doing my taxes I'm having to claim a buisness and pay a self-employee fee, which I am neither... any help is appreciated!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
smg101089
Returning Member

Contract vs. Employee

Yes thank you, I have read that while doing research on my own. Another issue is the office manager is new and "wasn't sure" when I asked her. Based on the 3 criteria:

1. Behavioral: Does the company control or have the right to control what the worker does and how the worker does his or her job?
    **Yes, the control how and what I do... they tell me what roles of my job to perform in the OR and I follow their standard of practice. 
  2. Financial: Are the business aspects of the worker’s job controlled by the payer? (these include things like how worker is paid, whether expenses are reimbursed, who provides tools/supplies, etc.)
    **I get paid regularly by the payer, they provide all the tools and supplies, and I don't need anything reimbursed bc that is not the aspect of the job working as a nurse.