Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I take the standard deduction if my parents make too much money to claim me as a dependent on their tax return? I'm a college student and supported by them.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

Can I take the standard deduction if my parents make too much money to claim me as a dependent on their tax return? I'm a college student and supported by them.

You are confused by the standard deduction and by the concept of being claimed as someone else's dependent.   The rule is if someone else CAN claim you then on your own tax return you must say that you can be claimed as someone else's dependent----even if they will not be claiming you.   

Your parents do not "make too much money" to claim you----they just might make too much to get the education credit --which is not the same thing.   

If you are a full-time college student under the age of 24, you can still be claimed as a qualifying child unless you personally paid for over half your own support.  

Here is the criteria used by parents (and others) to determine if they can claim a dependent:

WHO CAN I CLAIM AS A DEPENDENT?

You can claim a child, relative, friend, or fiancé (etc.) as a dependent on your 2023 tax return as long as they meet the following requirements:

Qualifying child

• They're related to you.
  • They aren't claimed as a dependent by someone else.
  • They're a U.S. citizen, resident alien, national, or a Canadian or Mexican resident.
  • They aren’t filing a joint return with their spouse.
  • They're under the age of 19 (or 24 for full-time students).
    • No age limit for permanently and totally disabled children.