Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Can I deduct attorney fees in this matter?

I am soon to receive proceeds from the recent sale of a family-owned home due to a bankruptcy filing by one of my siblings. I attempted to challenge the sale of the home with an attorney but ultimately decided to let it go to the trustee in my sibling’s bankruptcy to sell it.

My question: are the fees I paid for the attorney to defend me in the bankruptcy case tax deductible? I am going to pay the attorney out of the proceeds but wonder if they can be deducted. Also, if they can be deducted, what documentation will I need beside a final bill from the attorney to support the deduction if allowed? Is this something that will be easy to fill in within the TT software (I usually use Premier).

I am a resident of Georgia but the home is located in New York State (New York City to be more precise) if that makes a difference.

Thanks. 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/tax-deductions-and-credits/can-i-deduct-legal-fees-on-my-taxes/...

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**

View solution in original post

3 Replies

https://turbotax.intuit.com/tax-tips/tax-deductions-and-credits/can-i-deduct-legal-fees-on-my-taxes/...

**Disclaimer: Every effort has been made to offer the most correct information possible. The poster disclaims any legal responsibility for the accuracy of the information that is contained in this post.**