Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

buzzb014

Australian Working in US on a E3 –

I know I am a resident for tax purposes as I pass the substantial presence test,  but do I need to disclose income made in Australia before I moved to the US? 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

As a U.S. resident, you have to report your worldwide income.

Please read this TurboTax Help topic on how to report your foreign income.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
OlegAndr
Returning Member

There is stage where you can add foreign income and also add justification that you lived there at this time.

KarenJ2
Expert Alumni

You do not need to disclose income made in Australia before you moved to the US if you file a dual status return.  If you are married, and choose to file a full year resident return with your spouse, then you will need to include your 2019 Australian income.

If you moved to the US in 2019, and you are not a green card holder, you are considered a dual status taxpayer (part year nonresident and part year resident).  Dual status returns are not easy but we can walk you through it.  You will not be able to use the standard deduction on your resident part of your return, and if you are married, you will need to file married filing separately.  If not, you will file as single.