Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

1099-R contains codes 'PJ'. Any way to avoid filing an amendment ?

In 2020 I made excess Roth IRA contributions without realizing that Roth IRA's have an income limit. Then in February/March last year when I was preparing my 2020 tax filing, I realized that those Roth IRA contributions are all in excess. So I withdrew all the contributions and their earnings, however now I've received a 1099-R showing the codes 'PJ'. TurboTax is advising me that I need to file an amendment for the 2020 tax filing that I filed last year and include this 1099-R in that 2020 amended tax filing.

Filing an amendment is a hassle (which I've never done before as well), so is there any way to avoid doing that ?? Can I not just include this 1099-R in this the 2021 tax return that I'm preparing now, and perhaps include a letter of explanation ?

Also, if I absolutely have to file 2020 tax filing amendment, and I include this 1099-R in that amendment, then do I still include this 1099-R in the 2021 tax filing that I'm preparing now ?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

1 Best answer

Accepted Solutions
DanaB27
Expert Alumni

Yes, it seems that the excess contribution got carried over. But you do not have an excess contribution since you removed it before the 2020 due date. Please follow these steps to delete the wrong excess contribution entry:

1. Click on "Search" on the top right and type “IRA contributions”
  2. Click on “Jump to IRA contributions"
  3. Select “Roth IRA
  4. On the "Enter Excess Contributions" screen delete the excess contribution from prior years.
  5. Repeat for your wife