Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

npiskuri
Returning Member

1098-T Fellowship Money

Hello, 

I am a student that receives fellowship support from my university for living and other non-educational related expenses. I also get paid biweekly through my advisor which I received a W-2 for. The fellowship money is included in my 1098-T form that I received from my university, so do I have to report this money as additional income in another section, or is the 1098-T section the only part that I am required to fill out? Additionally, when TurboTax prompts the question "Are you receiving any other additional aid besides the one listed in the 1098T?," am I supposed to say yes because of the income from my advisor, or are wages treated differently than aid? Thank you! 

x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies
AmyC
Expert Alumni

1098-T Fellowship Money

No, additional income not on W2 or 1098, undeclared other income is what the program is looking to find. The IRS is just looking for all taxable income. The W2 handles one part and the 1098T the rest. You are good.

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
npiskuri
Returning Member

1098-T Fellowship Money