Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Why cant i deduct loss from Rental income in the Royalty section that has a netloss?

Hello,

i have a few rental properties and i have been taking depreciation on the last few years. i have been using turbotax for the last 3 years. This year when after i entered all of the rental income / expenses / depreciation, there is a netloss on the property, but it says "What you can deduct at this point: zero".

I checked the 2022 trubo tax and i can see that it did show that I can deduct the same amount as the netloss.

This year, none of them is allowing me to and all showing "zero".

Some rental properties are owned by a single person LLC, and some of them is a direct name ownership and they all showing a zero on deduction. 

Eventho it says you can deduct is zero - it did sum up all the "netloss" across all the rental properties & roytalties section, and display a net -26669 in the Business Income and Expenses.

What is the reason why that it says i cannot take any deduction, but still showing a -26669 in the Sche E?

Later on a few screens later - it says i am getting a QBI of $5999.  I do not understand where this $5999 come from.  And this $5999 appears to the be total deduction i can get and not the -26669.  Can you help clarify this for me?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

3 Replies

Why cant i deduct loss from Rental income in the Royalty section that has a netloss?