Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ems0710
Returning Member

What constitutes "out of town"?

Hi. I'm an ASL interpreter who travels for work. (ETA: I am an independent contractor, not a W2 employee.) Now, I know that commute mileage cannot be deducted (home to my "office" for the day, which is my first job since I don't work out of an office and currently can't have one in my home, and my last job back home), but multiple things also say that working on a temporary assignment (expected to last less than a year and is actually less than a year) out of town can deduct travel expenses. I'm a substitute/filler, so temporary is the nature of the gig. I currently have an assignment that will go through May, so check on "temporary." But what is considered "out of town"?

I've read a lot and asked a few people and I can't seem to get a clear answer. And if it's a definition with wiggle room that's fine, but I would also think there would be some kind of working definition for us to go off of. This assignment I mentioned involves about an hour's drive (highway, not city driving) from my home. Would this be considered out of town? One person I asked said that if you can't go home for lunch and get back within an hour's break that's a good rule of thumb to use, but that describes every job I've had since I started this job last spring. One website I read said if the assignment was "out of the metro area of where you live" that was considered out of town. Describing where I live as "metro" is incredibly generous, but I take their point, sort of. So I guess my true question is that if I tracked my mileage and deducted that on my taxes based on that understanding, would I get dinged or is that reasonable? TIA.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?