Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

xiyanL666

US China treaty in California.

Hi,

I'm a resident alien in California. I received W-2 and 1042-S from my school. I know that we have the China-US treaty which states that the income within $5k does not need to be taxed. But I've also heard that California does not accept treaties? So I was wondering if I still need to file this??

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

5 Replies
pk
Level 15
Level 15

@xiyanL666 , just to make sure that you are indeed a resident for tax purposes :

(a) when did you enter the  U SA with F-1?  Were there any other entries during  the prior years ?

(b) are you married to a US person ( citizen/GreenCard/ Resident for Tax Purposes )?

(c) How did you file your return for 2022.

I ask these questions ( and need answers to ) because  TurboTax supports only the 1040 series of forms  ( Not 1040-NR ).

Generally though most states do not recognize  US-Other country tax treaties.  And California specifically uses  a form to declare the sourcing of  incomes  ( CA or  "other State " ).

I will circle back once I hear from you --yes ?

xiyanL666

Hi, I am a resident alien calculated by Glacier Tax Prep. I entered as F1 in 2019, but has been J2 in 2011-2012 which makes me a resident alien. I’m not married. 
I mailed W-2 and 1042s to IRS last year. 

I just wanted to ask if I add “-5000” for the tax treaty at the federal tax, do I need to subtract it at state tax? Thanks!

Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

The US China tax treaty does not apply to your state return. So you would have to add it back to your CA income.