Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

ng92
Returning Member

Standard Deduction for F-1 Student

Hi,

I am an international student from India on an F-1 visa in the US. I am reviewing my 2022 return and have a query about the standard deduction under the US-India income tax treaty.

In 2022, my spouse was on an L-1 visa, and I was on an F-1 visa. Both of us were non-resident aliens for US tax purposes and filed 1040-NR. She claimed an itemized deduction on her return for the withheld state taxes. Under the US-India income tax treaty, I claimed the standard deduction. IRS Publication 519 mentions the following

Screenshot 2024-03-06 at 1.48.46 PM.png

I would like to understand if I was not eligible to take the standard deduction and incorrectly claimed the standard deduction on my 2022 tax return.

Thank you!

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

The rules for the 1040NR can be different than the rules for the form 1040.  TurboTax does not cover the form 1040NR.  You could contact Sprintax.com to get a good answer on filing status and deductions as a non resident alien.

In general, for those filing a form 1040 as a US Citizen or Resident Alien, both must either itemize or take the standard deduction.  One cannot itemize while the other takes the standard deduction.  

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
pk
Level 15
Level 15