Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Self employed tax deduction - groceries

I'm a self employed freelancer that requires me to purchase groceries/food to complete my job, can I deduct 100% of these expenses for my tax?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

7 Replies

Are the groceries/food you purchase Only used for the service you provide to your clients and not for your own personal consumption?

There is some overlapping where I use it for my own consumption and using it to expand my business as well

Then you can only use a percentage of the  cost you paid as a self-employment expense relative to the service you provide.  The percentage of the cost you use for your own consumption would not be a SE expense.

Carl
Level 15

There is some overlapping where I use it for my own consumption and using it to expand my business as well

Not trying to upset anyone here, but depending on your state as well as your business type and structure, just be aware that this could be considered commingling personal funds with business funds. Weather this could cause a problem in the future remains to be determined if you're ever audited or sued.

I would suggest in the future, that you do separate purchases of one grocery run for business only, and a 2nd for personal only. Makes book keeping simpler and can significantly reduce the headache of dealing with an audit should that ever happen.

I think we really don't know what's going on here, you would need a lot more specifics.