Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

buly
Level 1

Repairs and improvements for real estate professional vs. non real estate professional

Hello.  I am a real estate professional actively engaged in business.  I inherited a condo in 2022 and throughout 2023 I personally made both improvements and repairs to the property.  I also had less income than expenses in 2023 - i.e., the repairs and improvements exceeded my income by 25K.

So far I've heard from turbo tax and elsewhere conflicting information on how I can deduct these repairs and improvements.  Some people say I can deduct them both and they will both be carried forward. Some people, say no I cannot deduct expenses/repairs that exceed my income.  I believe the fact that I am a real estate broker allows me to carry these loses/capital improvements forward regardless of my income in the year of renovation.

Help?  Advice?  I need clarity.

Thank you.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

4 Replies
Vanessa A
Expert Alumni

Repairs and improvements for real estate professional vs. non real estate professional

No. The fact that you are a real estate professional does not allow you to use the same treatment on your personal property.  Since this is personal property, you cannot carry these losses or improvements. 

**Say "Thanks" by clicking the thumb icon in a post
**Mark the post that answers your question by clicking on "Mark as Best Answer"
buly
Level 1

Perhaps I should have added:

• The property is not my primary residence.
  • I've never lived there.
  • The only time spent there was to repair and improve so I can lease it out.