Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

No3Jacks
Returning Member

Recovery Rebate Credit Worksheet Line 16

I've been using TT for 7 or 8 years without a problem until this year and it has to do with Line# 16 on the Recovery Rebate Credit Worksheet.  Married filing jointly.  We received the full amount of both stimulus payments ($2400 & $1200).  Line# 16 asks for the amount receive in EPI 1 which should be $2400 yet TT entered the amount for EPI 2 $1200.  As a result the worksheet calculated a $958 credit and added on the 1040-SR Line #30.  We were not due the credit since we received the full amount for both payments.  My question is where did the $1200  that was entered on Line# 16 come from?  All questions regarding the stimulus payments were answered correctly yet the program seems to have pick up the wrong stimulus payment amount to enter on Line# 16, $1200 vs the correct amount which should have been $2400.  Is it something I did or is/was the program picking up the wrong stimulus payment?

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

To find out why the software used $1200 on line 16, you can check to see how to see the how TurboTax calculated the Recovery Rebate credit.

TO VIEW THE RECOVERY REBATE CREDIT:

Click   Tax Home

Click   Review   if necessary to get Tax Tools on the left side-bar

Click   Tax Tools   on the left side-bar (you may need to use the scroll bar for the left side-bar to see this)

Click   Tools   on the drop-down list

Click    View Tax Summary   on the Tools Center screen

When you do this,   Preview my 1040   appears on the left side-bar           

Click   Preview my 1040   on the left side-bar