Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Ask the Experts All About the Refund! >> Event happening NOW!!!!
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Jarrodm08

Do I Qualify For A Mileage Deduction?

I work as a "Mobile" Security Officer. I use my personal car and am assigned multiple different work-site locations (Electrical Substations) through any given week. These facilities are not permanent locations for me and where I am assigned can change in a moments notice. Sometimes these locations end up being 75-100mi from where I live. I want to know if I can somehow get a tax deduction for the excessive mileage I put on my personal car. My employer's office is 45 minutes from where I live, but the locations distance ends up being random and often much farther than the office's location. Is this considered regular commuting, or because my "work" location changes dynamically throughout any given week, am I allowed to take some kind of deductions. 

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

2 Replies

What is your status in regards of employment?  Are you an employee of the company where you receive a W-2 each tax year?  Or are you a self-employed independent contractor where your income is reported on a Form 1099-MISC or other type of statement NOT a W-2?

If you are a W-2 employee then none of the employee business expenses for the use of your personal vehicle are deductible on a federal tax return due to the tax code changes affecting tax years 2018 thru 2025.

Carl
Level 15