Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

sandy613
Returning Member

1099Q

I have been using Turbotax for many years and I have always trusted that it would steer me in the right direction.  This year I was paying closer attention to how each of my entries effected my taxes.  I noticed that when I entered my 1099Q it resulted in my owing a lot of taxes.  I read several forums and realized that I should not enter the 1099Q because all of the money on this form was for qualified educational expenses.  However, I have entered the 1099Q for the last 4 years trusting that Turbotax would ask me questions to prevent such a simple but sizable error.  I don't know if I should amend my past taxes and I don't know how to do it.  Please advise.

Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

31 Replies
MinhT1
Expert Alumni

1099Q

On form 1099-Q, instructions to the recipient read: "Nontaxable distributions from CESAs and QTPs are not required to be reported on your income tax return. You must determine the taxability of any distribution.

You can just not report the 1099-Q, at all, if your student-beneficiary has sufficient educational expenses, including room & board (even if he lives at home) to cover the distribution. You would still have to do the math to see if there were enough expenses left over for you to claim the tuition credit. Again, you cannot double dip!  When the box 1 amount on form 1099-Q is fully covered by expenses, TurboTax will enter nothing about the 1099-Q on the actual tax forms. But, it will prepare a 1099-Q worksheet for your records, in case of an IRS inquiry.

If necessary, you can amend the last 3 returns.

Please read this TurboTax article on how to amend your return.