turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Announcements
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Is covid considered a natural disaster?

Can I claim being affected by a natural disaster because of covid?
Connect with an expert
x
Do you have an Intuit account?

Do you have an Intuit account?

You'll need to sign in or create an account to connect with an expert.

16 Replies
Tay1988

I am not a tax expert, but I think the TAX EXPERT up above who stated,  "Yes.  Effective March 13, 2020, the COVID-19 pandemic is a qualifying natural disaster.  The COVID-19 pandemic is a “federally declared disaster,” as defined by section 165(i)(5)(A) of the Code. " Should also specify that the Natural Disaster question on Turbo Tax clearly states, "Select Yes only if you were affected by a federally declared natural disaster that was declared BEFORE February 19, 2020". 

How can you answer YES to the natural disaster question due to Covid, if it wasn't declared  until March 12th 2020, when Turbo Tax ask if you were affected BEFORE Feb 19th 2020?

The question in the software regarding natural disasters does not apply to COVID.  It is true that COVID is considered a Federally Declared Disaster, and TurboTax automatically assists with the Recovery Rebate Credit.  There are questions during the interview pertaining to the amount of stimulus that everyone was received.  Since COVID affected the entire nation, the stimulus applies in every state.  

The question in TurboTax about whether you are affected by a natural disaster pertains to claiming a casualty loss of property due to natural disasters such as earthquakes, hurricanes, floods, wildfires, and the like.  Your question about the date is valid but the question isn't referring to COVID, since it's already been handled separately and taken into consideration by the software.

Here is an IRS link about natural disaster relief