Did you mean: 
turbotax icon
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Close icon
Do you have a TurboTax Online account?

We'll help you get started or pick up where you left off.

Income reporting in multiple states

I have been a NC resident the entire year.  I have an LLC ownership interest in Wisconsin that generates income and delivers a K-1.  I need to file NC and Wisconsin returns.  When doing my NC and Wisconsin returns, Turbotax pulls over from my Federal return and then allows me to allocate/adjust income and deductions relevant to NC and Wisconsin.  Issues:

1.  1099-Interest income - Turbotax pulls over 100% of Federal return 1099-Int income.  This interest income is NOT taxable by Wisconsin.  It is taxable by NC only.  In the step by step flow, Turbotax is not providing a way to allocate/modify the Federal Interest number.  Turbotax does allow a step to allocate Dividend and Capital Gain modifications but NOT 1099-Interest.  I couldn't overide/adjust it in the Forms section either.  The only way I could find a way to offset/remove the Interest income was to put something in the "Other Adjustments" area which shows up on line 28 of my Wisconsin return.  Why doesn't Turbotax allow ability to modify Federal Interest amount like it does for Dividends and Capital Gains?  Is there some other way to make the adjustment other than how I have?